Logo: Adam Bartley.

World Tafl Federation Championship 2020, September 15th -

Odin from Lejre
Odin from Lejre, Denmark.

Tournament rules.

There are two separate lines of tournament:
  • Copenhagen Hnefatafl 11x11
  • Historical Hnefatafl 9x9 (Saami Tablut)
A player can participate in one or both of the tournaments.
The winners are (for Copenhagen) Hnefatafl World Champion and traditionally also Hnefatafl Grandmaster, or (for Tablut) Historical Hnefatafl World Champion.

Sign up: all August and half September. There is a button for registering for the tournament on the "Tafl against humans" page. Deadline for registering is September 14th 12:00 Danish time.
It is not allowed to participate with more than one alias.
Start: September 15th.
 The Copenhagen rules, described here.
 The Saami Tablut rules, described here.
Umpire: For xxx's games, umpire is yyy. For xxx/yyy games, umpire is zzz.
Info: Check the chat forum for info during the tournament.

Points are 1 for won, 0 for lost and 0.5 for a draw.

For Round 1 roughly half of the players, with the lower ratings, participate.
The Thue-Morse sequence is used to distribute the players into groups based on ratings.
Two players per group qualify for Round 2.

For Round 2 participate rest of the players plus the winners from Round 1.
Again the Thue-Morse sequence is used to distribute the players into groups based on ratings.
Two players per group qualify for Round 3, the Final.

The champion winner of last year, if he joins, skips all preliminary rounds and goes directly to the Final round 3. This player is, both for the Copenhagen and the Saami Tablut tournaments: Mario Aluizo ("casshern"), Los Angeles, USA.

In case of a tie:
1. direct comparison of the games of the tied players (for this round).
2. Sonneborn-Berger score calculated for this round.
3. The player who wins with the shortest game length, is the winner. (If a game was not played to the end, the number of moves it would take to finish the game, is added.)
In case of still a tie:
4. preliminary rounds: both players proceed. Final: new rounds between the tied winners until one player wins.

Time controls:
1 day per move.
Round 1: Time buffer 4 days. Long-game-threshold 8 days.
Round 2: Time buffer 7 days. Long-game-threshold 14 days.
Final: Time buffer 10 days. Long-game-threshold 20 days.
If a move is done within the time given per move, then half of the rest is restored to the time buffer.
When a game length exceeds the long-game-threshold, then the time per move is gradually reduced to 0 (1 hour).
But even when the time buffer is used up, you'll still always have 1 day (25 hours) for your current move.

If at any time you want to leave the tournament, just use the Deregister button.
If a player does not move at all during the first 5 days of round 1, he is removed from the tournament. For round 2: 8 days, for round 3: 11 days.
A player who causes more than half of his Round games to time out, is disqualified from the tournament.
We have seen some creative things in the course of time - if it is not allowed in a chess tournament, it is not allowed here either.

Round 1 groups are given names like Tunsberg, Fornebei, Heithabyr, Vinland etc.
Round 2 groups are given names like Trudvang, Bilskirner, Breidablik etc.
Round 3: the final group with the future World Champion is named Valhöll.
Tablut, similarly are used Saami names (hat tip Mikkel Berg-Nordlie, "mihkkal"):
Round 1 groups are named after places in the Lule Sámi area, where Linnaeus wrote down the Tablut rules: Virihávrre, Huhttán, Rágo, Foalda, Murgos.
Round 2 groups are named after places held to be sacred according to the old Sámi religion: Sejdjavvr, Aatoeklibpie, Äijih, Sálašoaivi, Rásttigáisá.
Round 3 named after the land of the dead in the old Sámi religion: Sáivu.

Updated 13.8.2020
Copyright © 1998-2020 Aage Nielsen, All Rights Reserved;