Distribution of players to Championship Tournament 2016 Round 2 groups.
Players in the small forum are discussing the 2016 Round 2 distribution. Here's a copy of the discussion:
2016-10-04 23:09:51 HELFRICH: Curious that I cannot find myself in any category of the final round, or am i misinterpreting the rules?
2016-10-05 01:00:15 crust: Helfrich, you and Vonraider seem to have been left out. I'm sorry, I assumed you had left the tournament, but it seems that a mistake has been made. I hope Hagbard will be able to fix it; it looks like you and Vonraider should both be in the Asgarthr group
2016-10-05 11:58:48 Hagbard: About Helfrich/Vonraider: No mistake. Both will be added as soon as possible, one to Asgarthr and the other to Mithgarthr. But it will take one or two more results of Round 1 games to know who goes where.
2016-10-05 12:46:23 crust: Oh that makes sense - sorry Hagbard, I should have realized that!
2016-10-05 12:49:15 crust: I saw Helfrich had finished all his games, but of course his placing in round 2 depends on the results of Vonraider's remaining two first-round games
2016-10-05 17:17:19 HELFRICH: I would like a clarification on the tie breaker situation. I won seven games by your count, nine by my count. Your removal of two games wins does not seem 'cricket' to me. It is unfair that I or others in my first round grouping should be penalized because some non-serious entry didn't finish any of his games. That player should not have been 'wiped' from the tourney records either: historical records count for future tournaments. As I noted in an earlier posting, some sort of qualification should occur for entry into this championship cycle (like perhaps having played at least 25 games). If you all don't like enacting a qualification, then there should be no penalty.
2016-10-05 21:23:25 Tuireann: It did not penalize you because if you had 2 more points so would everyone else in your group and the standings would be identical at 13,11,11,9(you),5,2,0X with a maximum score of 14. Only the top 2 players from each group advances so its not as if you have to compete against players from other groups with more possible points. The historical records don't count for future tournaments by any reasoning I understand because the group distribution was done by ELO. And the tie breaking is neustadtl score which didn't apply to you because you didn't tie anyone.
2016-10-05 23:47:02 crust: there is an issue, though. Helfrich is now competing with vonraider for a place in the Asgarthr group; but Helfrich is in Heithabyr group (whit 7 members) whereas vonraider is in Tunsberg group (with 8 members). It follows that Helfrich's points are out of a maximum of 12 points, whereas vonraider's are out of a maximum of 14 points. Another way of putting it is that vonraider had two more opportunities of gaining a point than Helfrich had. This wouldn't matter, as Tuireann rightly said, when Helfrich is competing against players in his own group, but now there is competition between players from 2 different (and different-sized) groups for a place in the Asgarthr group. Now, let's say that vonraider loses his remaining 2 games, and remains on 7 points. That's 7 points out of a possible 14, whereas Helfrich has 7 points out of a possible 12. 7/12 is more than 7/14, so it seems to me, in that case, that Helfrich should be favoured. However, if Vonraider wins one of his remaining games, then Helfrich's 7/12 STILL beats vonraider's 8/14, since 7/12 = 1/2 + 1/12, and 8/14 = 1/2 + 1/14. So again, Helfrich wins, even though he has one more point than vonraider! Now, if vonraider wins both his remaining games, then his 9/14 does finally beat Helfrich's 7/12, since 9/14 = 1/2 + 1/7, which beats Helfrich's 1/2 + 1/12. So if Vonraider wins both, he goes through to Asgarthr; if he wins only one, or neither, then Helfrich goes through to Asgarthr. Somebody please check my maths, it's not my speciality!
2016-10-05 23:58:25 crust: also where I said "even though he has one more point than vonraider" I should have said one LESS. Just to be clear, if Vonraider wins one of his remaining games and has 8 points compared with Helfrich's 7 points, then vonraider has 8 out of 14, which is still LESS than Helfrich's 7 out of 12. So Helfrich wins, even though he has one LESS point than vonraider. Anyone agree or disagree?
2016-10-06 00:04:55 crust: another way of putting it: Helfrich might have 7 points and vonraider have 8 points, but Helfrich would still have won a greater share of the available points in his group than vonraider had. 7 out of 12 beats 8 out of 14.
2016-10-06 00:14:29 HELFRICH: crust -- thanks for the explanation. I understand your math logic. However, my contention was and still is that the player (who was removed) points should be awarded, thus I would be at nine points not seven. The player who stopped his games was very new at the game. My standing in the group does not change but my point value in tie breakers does improve. Tuireann -- respectively submit that you misunderstood completely as I was not talking about points to get into the top group or the standing I had within the group I was placed in during the first round. It did/does clearly penalize me for tiebreakers. Historically it does count for future reference for the instance of players joining who repeatedly do not finish their games. Showing what actually happened in the tourney is historical and a record should be preserved.
2016-10-06 00:18:04 crust: The problem with that analysis is that we're really not comparing Vonraider's score with Helfrich's, to decide who goes through; we're comparing it to the other players in vonraider's "Tunsberg" group, in fact, to be precise, it's with Steiger that his points must be compared, and since Steiger and Vonraider are in the same group, we don't need to express their scores as fractions. Allocation to second-round groups is determined by position within first-round groups, not by comparing scores across different groups. So I can see that all of my calculations were in vain. But vonraider still needs to win both games against Steiger, to get to Asgarthr! So I was right, but for the wrong reasons....
2016-10-06 00:41:11 crust: Helfrich - you are worried that your loss of points because of the disqualification of a player in the first round might affect your tie-break status in the second round? My understanding is that tie-breaks are based only on what happens in that round, not on what happened in previous rounds, so you should be completely unaffected.
2016-10-06 01:01:32 HELFRICH: crust -- interesting revelation. So if the points (wins) don't matter, I am in 4th place in my group regardless and that qualifies me for placement in the next round -- so why then am I not placed. The tie breakers I have ALWAYS been talking about are those used for advancement to and placement in the next round (tiebreakers between placement from different groups). Vonraider's and Steiger's games outcome should then only affect which group they are placed in and has nothing to do with my not being placed. If so then make it so and place me! My original question was why wasn't I placed ....
2016-10-06 01:11:29 HELFRICH: Crust -- I just reread your last statement and it appears we are not communicating. I am referring to "tie breakers" in the FIRST Round that are used for player PLACEMENT in the SECOND round groupings.
2016-10-06 02:06:22 Tuireann: Yeah, I thought Helfrich meant Valholl advancement and the tournament as a whole in general. I've written a few replies and then refreshed read and reread and at this point I've lost the plot. I assume the reason you have not been placed yet is because the outcome of the remaining games influences into which second round group you end up in for the sake of balancing the groups based on the results of the first round. And that it's because Vonraider will end up with a score of 0.50,0.57, or 0.64 to your 0.58 so presumably one ends up in Asgarthr and one ends up in Mithgarthr. But I have no idea how the groups are being distributed because its not stated.
2016-10-06 02:38:54 HELFRICH: Tuireann -- I was hoping the tourney organizers could provide a simple straightforward answer. I am confused. I have been politely provided with three different answers. Your last remark in your post appears to be very accurate, in short it is not defined. I also can 'assume' reasons, but I was looking for clarification.