Search found 8 matches

by Auskor
Sun Jan 24, 2021 7:21 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

Hnefihunter, 'I suggest adhering to the rule' The point is that the 3 capture rule is not included in the current Brandubh 2 rules as posted on the site, nor is it programmed by Aage. I looked back at the posts in this forum topic - page 4 - and I think it is clear from the posts on 15 and 16 March ...
by Auskor
Sun Jan 24, 2021 12:39 am
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

Hnefihunter, Just to be clear about your last comment - the 3 piece capture you mentioned is only valid in Brandubh 1 Unhandyandy and I played a Brandubh 2 game to test the very situation you described - see game in brandubh 2 archive 2020-9-22 Unhandyandy .v. Auskor where after playing the king to ...
by Auskor
Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:30 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

The rules for Brandubh 1 and Brandubh 2 are identical except for one detail - the capture of the king when it is next to the throne square. In Brandubh 2 black only needs 2 pieces to capture the king - the same as anywhere else on the board. In Brandubh 1 when the king is on the squares c4, d3, e4 o...
by Auskor
Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:57 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

So a very clear and straightforward repetition rule to use would be if the same BOARD POSITION is detected on 3 occasions then black is declared the winner irrespective of the sequence of moves that bring about the final position. I don't know if it would have an effect on the game balance but from ...
by Auskor
Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:55 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

Am I the only one who is unclear about the repetition rule? Today there was a case in game where the SAME BOARD POSITION occurred three times but not as part of a continuous sequence of repeating moves. This resulted in one player losing unexpectedly as they had not repeated the same moves one after...
by Auskor
Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:21 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

I looked back to previous posts in this topic. On page 4 Hagbard and Branan had a discussion re the 2 or 3 piece capture next to the throne and it reads to me that the 3 piece capture has been removed in Irish Brandubh 2. I think the problem with the rules interpretation is more for players who play...
by Auskor
Tue Sep 22, 2020 4:39 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

Are you sure about that unhandyandy? I know that was the case in Brandubh-1 when 3 pieces on c3, d2 and e3 would capture a king on d3 and it states it clearly in the Brandubh 1 rules. I confess that I have never had the case you mentioned (white king on d3 between black pieces on c3 and e3 when blac...
by Auskor
Sun Sep 20, 2020 2:41 pm
Forum: Rules
Topic: Brandubh 7x7
Replies: 77
Views: 53677

Re: Brandubh 7x7

I guess the situation you described is covered by section 3 of the rules where it states "The throne is never hostile to the king". Hence the king on D3 is safe when a black piece lands on D2.